My Journey Thus Far

Before I explain how I got here, let me define what “here” is to me. My name is Melanie and I am a twenty-five year old, recent college graduate. I graduated in May 2012 and, as of November 1st, I have my first paid position in human resources as a Recruiting Assistant.

My journey started on a very different path. Upon graduating high school, I had so many interests that I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. I finally settled on music and poetry and majored in Liberal Arts at my local community college. My last semester of getting my Associate’s in Arts, I realized there wasn’t much I could do with said degree. I graduated and decided to go back, this time for Business. My intention was to go the Entrepreneur route, but my Management professor suggested Human Resources. I took an HR class and was hooked. After getting my Associate’s I transferred to a four year college and graduated with a BSBA in Management with a concentration in Human Resource Management. However, there was not much available for me in the job market. With the economy the way it is, many places were requiring at least three years experience which I did not have.

I networked as much as possible through SHRM and eventually my luck changed. I stumbled across a posting for an unpaid/volunteer internship in HR. Despite being unpaid, I jumped on the opportunity to gain experience and applied. I was accepted, along with three other interns. It turned out to be the best learning experience! I learned far more in that one internship than I ever could have learned in school. They have now hired me on and I couldn’t be more happy!

I am writing this blog to provide perspective of a young professional still trying to break into this field. I plan on writing about lessons I’ve learned and suggestions I have for other young professionals to get their foot in the door. At some point I may even include book reviews, so if you have any suggestions for books, please share in the comments below!

What about you?

How did you get into Human Resources? Are you struggling to do so?

What suggestions do you have for young professionals/ recent grads?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

