HR Does Nothing but Create Stupid Policies All Day

There seems to be a myth about ALL HR pros.

Everyone from other Managers to employees seem to think that as HR I either sit at my computer all day doing nothing, but stare into space or I waste time writing too many stupid policies.

Since starting this job, I won’t lie.. I have felt a bit like the policy police. The progressive discipline process was some strange point system that even the managers who were supposed to be enforcing it didn’t understand the ins and outs of. So one of the first things I did was completely re-write the progressive discipline policy. I simplified it and in addition to that, I create a thorough SOP for the managers (in Laymen’s terms) so it was incredibly clear-cut as to how the process works and how to properly use it. I also updated our Corrective Action Review form so it aligned with the new policy.

This was months ago and I’m still trying to get all the managers to follow the procedures.

The thing is, it’s not like I just sit here and scheme about ways I can make everyone’s lives miserable. We had people getting written up for the most absurd things, yet people who were incredibly problematic were not getting any worse discipline.

It was chaos. And the President asked me to fix that.

And the sad thing is that I dumbed it down several times to make it as simple and straight-forward as possible and shared the changes with everyone.

Then we had an incident that needed addressing immediately. I searched and searched and discovered there were not only no policies on how to handle Workers’ Comp, but there were no forms to be filled out either. So once again, I came to the rescue and created an incident report form and handled it like a pro even though it was my first workers comp case.

Do you see where I’m getting at? There were basic needs that I have filled. I hate making policies for the sake of making policies. This topic has come up several times lately as I am in the process of updating our Handbook. I am updating the discipline police to denote the changes that have already been (somewhat) implemented, but I was also asked by the President to modify several other policies to make them clearer. That’s fine, I like clarity. If we have a rule, I want to know everyone knows that rule in and out as well as why we have the rule.

So why am I writing this post?

Simply put, today it was implied that I should be writing/creating forms for other departments because they are too busy.

Okay. You done laughing yet? I’ll give you more time.

Yes. You read that right. After 5 years of being around, apparently there is not an incident report that is for generic incidents that do not involve specimens or personal injury. And apparently since I don’t have anything else going on, I should be the one to write this!

Maybe it’s unreasonable for me to be irritated at the presumption, but I make it a point to complete assigned tasks in a timely manner and I also believe my assignments should only really relate to my department. This particular form that they want the HR Manager to write is operations related. I mean, seriously. When I was the admin assistant, I did this stuff all the time, but as the HR Manager my time is spent on other matters like recruiting, benefits, revising the handbook, searching for new software the bossman wants us to get to help payroll run smoother, etc.

Opening up Word to type up a form in which I don’t even know what all Operations wants on it is hardly a priority here. I am a one woman show and it’s frustrating when people assume I am just a blackhole sucking up time and money.

Let’s face it. The reality is, HR can be one of the most thankless jobs out there. Sometimes it even makes you question why you chose this profession.. but then an employee thanks you for the opportunity to work, or recognizes that you were behind them getting paid on time and you remember.. it’s not always about the negative views people have on the profession as a hole, it’s about you breaking that stigma and doing what you are passionate about!

As the holidays get ever closer, I must say that even with all the frustrations that make me want to hit my head against my desk a few times, I am so thankful to be doing what I love.

Also, I think being somewhat crazy is a job requirement in this field.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

